Japanese Style Pancakes

I have seen these pancakes popping up a lot lately, so I decided to give them a go!  I used both a round cookie cutter for support on the sides to keep the pancakes tall and fully looking, and I also made my own cardboard concoction with parchment paper in the middle to help with nonstick purposes, and both worked out great.

Also, usually I am not much of a plain pancake person and like an interesting flavor thrown into the batters, but I wanted these to turn out perfect and fluffy, so I didn’t want to mess with any of the ingredients and kept them plain and simple!  However, the recipe was actually perfect as it was!  Great vanilla taste and lots of flavor.  They took forever to cook because they were on a really low heat, but I’d say it was worth it.  In-between pancake stacks, I put some vanilla bean greek yogurt, fig jam and crushed up graham crackers… so that’s where I was able to add some crazier flavors.  🙂  All in all, definitely a fun breakfast and can’t wait to make it again!

Recipe: http://authenticsuburbangourmet.blogspot.com/2015/03/japanese-style-pancakes.html

(I was having too much fun taking different picture variations of these pancakes so naturally I couldn’t choose which I liked best and decided to include them all!)

Leave a Reply

