Homemade Pasta

My sister bought me a pasta machine for Christmas last year and I tried once to make pasta and it was the most frustrating meal of my life! After doing some more research and building up the courage, I decided to try again using help from these websites:

http://www.ijustmakesandwiches.com/recipe/how-to-make-homemade-pasta/

http://www.seriouseats.com/2015/01/best-easy-all-purpose-fresh-pasta-dough-recipe-instructions.html

I followed the first recipe and used a 1:1 ratio between the semolina pasta flour and eggs. I still struggled with crumbly dough that wouldn’t come together when trying to knead it and added about 1/8 cup of water which helped, but I’m guessing I could have used more because it was still really hard when I wrapped it to put in the fridge for 30 minutes. Then, when running the pasta through the rolling machine, the dough would break and tear a lot so I had to fight it but eventually got some noodles to come out! Still need lots of practice and figuring out the right method to putting together the perfect pasta dough, but I have to say this time was really darn tasty!!

I also cooked up some shrimp and made a Marsala wine sauce with some onions, garlic, butter, Marsala wine and a sprinkle of flour to thicken it up.

It was a long process, but all worth it!

Leave a Reply

